The Great October Novel Dare

Before NaNoWriMo, there was the Novel Dare: write an entire novel in a month. Not 50,000 words. A novel, a whole story, a complete draft. It doesn’t have to be perfect, but you have to hit “the end.”

Unsurprisingly, my dad is the one who introduced me to this idea, way back when I was a wee lass. He and one of his writer friends would pick a month and dare each other to write a novel during it. They often picked February, if my memory does not deceive me.

Anyway, I’ve just finished work on the first book of a new series which I’m calling Winter’s Consort, and I was itching to get started on book 2. I didn’t want to wait for November to come around, both because I want to ride this wave of excitement while I’ve got it, and also it would be nice to get a load of work out of the way before the election shit show really gets started. I might be too sad to write a word in November. Who knows.

But you know what really helps drive work? Competition.

So, like any good daughter, I challenged my dad to a Novel Dare.

“Write a novel in October with me, or I shall taunt you mercilessly,” I declared.

Now, I am not descended from cowards. Naturally, my dad said “Let me check my schedule, but sure.”

Thus, the Great October Novel Dare is on! I aim to complete a 40,000 word novel, which means my daily word goal is around 1300. But remember, this is a Novel Dare, so the true goal is a complete story. If I get to 38,000 words and the story is done, so am I. If the story hits 40,000 and there’s still tale left to tell, I’m fucked.

Anyway, today’s word count is 1,400, give or take a few. Ahead of the game already! Take that, Dad!