Finishing

Today, I finished the first draft of The Fount of Magic.

Yay!

This one came with a five-week long hiatus, a segment of the “mid-book blues” as some call it. That time was painful, because I felt like I just wasn’t being a good human being. I wasn’t writing, so I felt like a failure in everything else I did, too. Like I was just wasting time.

But I got over it, and got back to the writing. Those first few days back at the keyboard were painful. I had pitiful word counts. I hated everything I wrote. But I did it.

Eventually, the pace picked up, and it became easier, because it was fun again.

And now, I’m finished with the first draft.

While I’m definitely glad to be finished (it means I can move on to all of the other projects I’ve got stacking up in my to-write list! Yay!!!) a part of me is not looking forward to NOT having the novel to come home to after work. It had gotten to the point that I would walk in the door, pet the kitty, and then sit down to say hello to the novel. Sure, there’s still editing to do, and that’s fun, too. But it’s not the same as when you’re sitting there, pushing yourself to just put thirty more words on the page. Only thirty, and you’ll break 3,000 today!

Obviously, since I’ve already stated I’ve got more projects, new novels will come along in the near future.

But now this one is done, and I will miss it.

We had our laughs and our hard times, and in the end we came out with a pretty good draft. But now it’s time to move on.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D.R.Sylvester
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 21:26:47

    Haha, my mid book blues have stretched into the years before.
    Or is that giving up?
    Congrats on the completed draft!

    Reply

    • backwrites
      Jun 24, 2014 @ 22:36:20

      Thanks! And so long as there’s a chance you could go back to the book at some point, you haven’t given up. You’re just mulling it over for a while!

      Reply

  2. Millie Ho
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 23:02:33

    Congrats on finishing your first draft! I’m in the same boat, and have my red editor’s pen ready.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

